Top 5 Wednesday (T5W)

This is my first time participating in Top 5 Wednesday – I’m so excited! Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group that was created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey and is currently hosted by Sam at thoughtsontomes. Each week there is a new topic that you address with your top 5 books. The T5W tag isn’t restricted to any particular genre so I thought I would try it out! You can find out more information about T5W (here).

August 9: Second book is best

We’ve talked about series that went downhill, and series that are worth it, but which series were best in the middle?

Now, I’m not saying that I didn’t like these series after their second book, because I did, but I might have felt that the third book wasn’t quite up to standard or didn’t meet my expectations.

In no particular order here are my top 5:

  1. A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOMAF) by Sarah J. Maas

I read this series for the first time this year and while I loved ACOTAR and ACOWAR, my absolute favorite, for I think obvious reasons, was ACOMAF. I loved the world we were exposed to and getting to meet The Inner Circle, see Velaris, and begin to understand Rhys. I was so excited for ACOWAR and it was amazing… but I wanted/expected more.

ACOMAF2. Catching Fire (Hunger Games Trilogy) by Suzanne Collins

I haven’t read these books in years but I remember that I enjoyed The Hunger Games (#1), of course, but was excited that Catching Fire included some of the past victors. I can only imagine if this was an Adult Fantasy how bloody and horrible the Quarter Quell would have been, but I still enjoyed it and getting to know a knew cast of characters. Once again, it’s not that I didn’t like Mockingjay, but I just felt that some aspect fell short for me.

catchingfire.jpg

3. Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth

I’m not sure what to say expect I really wasn’t a fan of the last book. In all, I liked this series but it definitely was not one of my favorites. I’m not sure if I would enjoy them if I went back and reread them now or not.

insurgent.jpg

4. Siege and Storm (The Grisha Trilogy #2) by Leigh Bardugo

I wasn’t a major fan of this series but the ending of the third book just did not do it for me. I felt it was super unrealistic.

siegeandstorm

5. A Clash of Kings (A Song of Ice and Fire #2) by George R. R. Martin

This entire series is amazing and hands down one of my favorites of all time, but I struggled getting into the third book, A Storm of Swords. I think I loved A Clash of Kings so much because the first book left me with so many questions and just dying for more.

clashofkings.jpg

Well, I had so much fun participating in my first T5W ever! I definitely will be participating again in the future and I just love that you can use any book of any genre to create your top 5. It’s also so fun to see what everyone chooses!

 

Leave a Reply

