Review: Daughter of the Pirate King

DoTPKTitle: Daughter of the Pirate King

Author: Tricia Levenseller

Genre: Young Adult

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Published: February 28, 2017

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Summary: There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King (Goodreads).

Review:
This book was such a fun, fast-paced read. I found myself very reluctant to put the book down! Daughter of the Pirate King is a quick read and a book that I wish was significantly longer; that said, I think the book ended in the perfect spot!

Things I Liked

  1. The characters: I found myself loving Alosa and her sass! Sassy characters just make a book all the more enjoyable. The entire book I found myself intrigued by Riden’s story- I wanted to know more. He treated Alosa with respect , maybe not for her title, but for a combination of title and skill. A title means nothing if you can’t back it up. The banter/fighting between Alosa and Riden pretty much made the book.
  2. Plot: Without spoiling anything (hate spoilers!), I really enjoyed that everything developed slowly. Now don’t get me wrong, the pace of the book wasn’t slow – it was perfect – but varying aspects and secrets were unraveled slowly over the course of the book. Perfectly done.
  3. Plot Twist! I love plot twists!

Favorite Quotes

“Everyone has something dark in their past. I suppose it’s our job to overcome it. And if we can’t overcome it, then all we can do is make the most of it.”

“I am me because I choose to be me. I am what I want. Some people say you have to find yourself. Not I. I believe we create ourselves to be what we want.”

“Oh, the ridiculous things one has to do when one is a pirate.”

“Lass, you’ve the face of an angel but the tongue of a snake.”

Final Thoughts

I was so happy this book was included in the March “Sailors, ships and seas” OwlCrate box! I’m not sure I would have discovered this book on my own, and that would have been such a sad thing!

Daughter of the Pirate King left the perfect amount of questions unanswered for the sequel without it being too many questions that you’re left wondering “what the heck?!”. I know I’ll be picking up the sequel when it’s released, will you?

Have you read this book? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Drop a comment down below (just post a warning if there are spoilers, please!!).

 

Leave a Reply

