Review: The Girl on the Train

girlonthetrain

Title: The Girl on the Train

Author: Paula Hawkins

Publisher: Riverhead Books       

Published:  January 2015

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Synopsis: EVERY DAY THE SAME
Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.

UNTIL TODAY
And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?

Review: I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I typically don’t read a synopsis before reading a book. Now, that’s not to say that I read books without knowing what they are about… I simply read the synopsis in advance or have been recommended the book, put it on my TBR list if I liked it, and eventually I read it without turning back to the synopsis. I approached The Girl on the Train having never read the synopsis but having watched the movie trailer. I’m big on never watching the movie or show prior to reading the book(s) if I have any interest whatsoever in reading them. It spoils too much and there’s nothing I hate more than being spoiled.

I know at this point I’ve mainly reviewed Young Adult books on this blog but that’s not to say that I don’t read other genres- because I do. I love a good mystery/thriller and I’ll even take a decent one most days. (If anyone has any recommendations for mystery/thriller please leave them in the comments!) I feel I should state that I read the majority of this book by listening to the audiobook and read a few chapters of the ebook here and there.

Things I Liked:

  1. Multiple POV: There’s nothing I love more than reading a book with multiple points of view. I feel that I learn so much more about the world, characters and the plot by gaining different perspectives. Once in a while you come across multiple POV that aren’t well done which can create a bit of confusion on what exactly is going on… I did not think that was the case with this book (I have heard this complaint with this book though). I thought Hawkins did a great job focusing on POV from three female characters. You guys, the narrators of the audiobook were amazing!
  2. Plot Twist: Ya’ll, that plot twist really got me. I literally thought I had it all figured out but I didn’t. I love books that can keep me guessing!

Things I Didn’t Like:

  1. Rachel: While I enjoyed Rachel’s character as a whole, I found her to be a bit whiny for my liking. That said, I think the whining was completely reasonable with everything she was going through (i.e depression, alcoholism, divorce, etc.).

 

Literally every character in this book is a horrible person. I never imagined reading a book where I disliked almost every character, but in a way that I was happy to do so. I can’t wait to read Paula Hawkins new novel Into the Water that was published last month!

Leave a Reply

