Review: Can’t Buy Forever

cantbuyforever

Review: Can’t Buy Forever

Author: Susan Laffoon

Publisher: Page Publishing, Inc.

Year Published:  2015

Rating: 1/5

Synopsis: In the early 1950s, Odessa Drake (Dessa) is rescued from a bleak existence with a single mother. She takes a chance on the unknown to work in a boarding house owned by a widowed great aunt in Mineville, New York. Dessa is devoted to Aunt Flo and especially a young man, Nicholas, who appears and takes shelter in the attic, the only available space. Four years pass. She looks forward to each day because of his presence, in spite of the tedious work. Dessa is now eighteen and knows little more of Nicholas than the day he arrived to work the mines. She knows only he is a remarkable man who has a limp and she trusts Nicholas explicitly. There is a familiarity both recognize and an unshakeable bond develops. Nicholas has reasons to keep his past buried. Dangers loom and become evident when Nicholas gets too close and exposes their bond. What is the mystery behind this threat? To discover the answer, they escape by railway heading West, colliding with treachery and uncovering secrets, mile by mile. Their journey is impossible, but, they are supported by friends who risk their lives to make sure a great love and lineage is preserved. Or is it? None will forget their odyssey as they proceed to their destiny farther than they imagined (Goodreads).

Review:  ** I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. **

I agreed to read and review this book because the description intrigued me. I was doing well reading and following the plot until approximately page 80. Things started to get confusing and I hate to say it, weird, and I just couldn’t follow. I hate to DNF (did not finish) books so I plodded along until Chapter 9 (pg. 132). I left my bookmark wedged between the pages, indicating that I would make another attempt at finishing the book. I tried, but I couldn’t. This book was a DNF for me.

Things I Liked

  1. From the beginning I was intrigued about Nicholas – where did he come from, who is he, what does he do? I wanted to know more.

Things I Didn’t Like

  1. Grammar & Sentence Structure: There were numerous grammatical errors throughout the portion I read. At times the sentence structure seemed very odd and choppy. I encountered a few sentences that simply did not make sense… almost as if the author left off mid thought.
  2. I couldn’t follow the storyline once the author started to reveal things about Nicholas, Nicholas’ past, and Nicholas and Odessa’s relationship. Things were just too confusing.

Quote

“A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart and can sing it back to you when you have forgotten the words.”

Overall I think this book needed several more rounds of editing both by the author and others. Without the grammatical errors the book would likely have been much easier to follow and comprehend.

Leave a Reply

